1. **ATTENTION ALL DEVILS** If you are still having trouble logging in, (Resetting your password should do "the trick") Optimum Online is blocking JD emails for some reason*, OR if you are not technically capable of doing this; use the "Contact Us" form utilizing your current, valid email address. If your email address is 'lost' to you, simply providing some account details will get us on the correct path together. THERE IS NO NEED TO CREATE SECONDARY ACCOUNTS, STOP BEING SO LAZY! YOU WILL BE BANNED! (Yelling/impolite voice implied there for *maximum effect*)
    Dismiss Notice

Project from my engineering internship (FINISHED)

Septimus Aug 19, 2017

1. Septimus

Septimus Tiny Member

Hey,
    I just recently joined JD and decided I'd make my first real post.
    I am studying engineering in the 5th semester and have to do an internship so i thought why not make something fun out of it.
    As I was egerly awaiting to order a Shanklesong/now waiting for it to arrive I thought why not build a Bali on my own.
    I live in Germany so I can't make one with a live blade but a trainer is fine.
    As I did not know how much time I had for it I decided to just try and imitate the Squidtrainers handles dimensions as I randomly found a piece of aluminum which had about the perfect size for 2 handles.
    So first I cut the aluminum chunk in half and then milled the 2 halfes into the right thickness:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    Then I started to mill out the channel
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    I got a sweet little "stair" where the tip of the blade belongs so that it will fit in there tight:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    They are about 12,8mm x 12,8mm x 114,4mm but I will shorten them a little bit in the end when I give it the final finish and make them perfectly even/change the length to change the balance if it is not good.
    This is what the handle looks like after all the basic milling:
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]