1. **ATTENTION ALL DEVILS** If you are still having trouble logging in, (Resetting your password should do "the trick") Optimum Online is blocking JD emails for some reason*, OR if you are not technically capable of doing this; use the "Contact Us" form utilizing your current, valid email address. If your email address is 'lost' to you, simply providing some account details will get us on the correct path together. THERE IS NO NEED TO CREATE SECONDARY ACCOUNTS, STOP BEING SO LAZY! YOU WILL BE BANNED! (Yelling/impolite voice implied there for *maximum effect*)
    Dismiss Notice
  1. B_churchill

B_churchill Little Member

Hey JD!
    Im a total newbie to OTF knives but I would like to buy one. However right now I don't have much money to spend- so I plan to buy it in month or two.
    Do you guys have some advice for me ? Like knifes that are worth buying
    It would be much appreciated if you could recommend me a knife.
    I'm planning to spend around 200$ - maybe 300$.

Thanks in advance !

Last edited: Mar 20, 2018
  2. gzb

gzb SUPER Moderator* Super Moderator

Microtech UTX-85. Single Edge/Non Serrated

3. B_churchill

Thanks ! I bet its pretty good EDC am I right ?

4. Atheos

Atheos Average member JDBA Official Member

i really like ultratechs, and especially shopping used you can get one around 200 or maybe a little less if well used. I think any of the double action microtechs make for fine EDC blades.

5. B_churchill

Great! Do you have any specific model to recommend ?

6. gzb

IMO, it's just the right size for a first time DA OTF EDC. The slightly over 3" blade can work well for most EDC tasks.
    And the action is a little easier to manage for someone who's not used to one.

Again, just my opinion mind you. But I've carried/collected DA OTF's for over 16 years now and know a little about them in real life...

AJD1 likes this.
  7. desmodus

desmodus Arc Sodium Administrator Lady Devil JDBA Official Member Brigade Member