1. **ATTENTION ALL DEVILS** If you are still having trouble logging in, (Resetting your password should do "the trick") Optimum Online is blocking JD emails for some reason*, OR if you are not technically capable of doing this; use the "Contact Us" form utilizing your current, valid email address. If your email address is 'lost' to you, simply providing some account details will get us on the correct path together. THERE IS NO NEED TO CREATE SECONDARY ACCOUNTS, STOP BEING SO LAZY! YOU WILL BE BANNED! (Yelling/impolite voice implied there for *maximum effect*)
    Dismiss Notice

Nice multicolor textured micarta (several pictures)

Ariel Salaverria Nov 30, 2004

1. Ariel Salaverria

Ariel Salaverria Knifemaker Knife Maker or Craftsman

This is a green/black/tan micarta I'm making for Jason. He wants me to sculpt the slabs to make something colorful and grippy. Since it's my first time, I tested some patterns once I cutted the unusable parts.

The clothings I bought for this.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Making the pile, aplying polyester resin in between each layer (almost 60 of them)

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

On the press (12 tons, and I place the clothings on some oiled 1/2" steel plates)

[​IMG]

Right off the press.

[​IMG]

After I tested some sculpting to gain an idea of the job ahead.

[​IMG]

This was my first time using the hidraulic press.. this piece is like a rock! :D

The camo was Jason's idea, he wanted an OD green, tan and black mixture, and I picked a lighter green as once you press it with the resin it aquires a darker color (as you can see on the last picture)

When I get to polish the piece it will get a more cool look, as it enhances the contrasts between the colors.

This is after I cutted a piece for a slab and rounded it.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

This are the two slabs, now polished.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]