1. **ATTENTION ALL DEVILS** If you are still having trouble logging in, (Resetting your password should do "the trick") Optimum Online is blocking JD emails for some reason*, OR if you are not technically capable of doing this; use the "Contact Us" form utilizing your current, valid email address. If your email address is 'lost' to you, simply providing some account details will get us on the correct path together. THERE IS NO NEED TO CREATE SECONDARY ACCOUNTS, STOP BEING SO LAZY! YOU WILL BE BANNED! (Yelling/impolite voice implied there for *maximum effect*)
    Dismiss Notice

Looking for BM 51 Dis/Reassembly Advice

JAM3X Jul 17, 2020

1. JAM3X

JAM3X Little Member

Hi All. Im a total noob here, so if this is in the wrong place let me know and ill do my best to move it.

I just joined the forum (first one ever). I just got some FlyTi v9 scales for my Benchmade 51 and Im getting ready to put em on! I just wanted to know if there is anything in particular that I should know before starting, or anything I should keep an eye out for (gotcha ya's). I watched some vids and will look into it even more. Im fairly sure that I can do the job, I just dont want to be blindsided by something avoidable.

Thanks for any help
    -John

Benyounkz and apdallaround like this.
  2. apdallaround

apdallaround K'inich Janaab' Pakal I JDBA Official Member

was this yesterday?

how’d it go?

thegoodedge and JAM3X like this.
  3. Klyuchak

Klyuchak Channel Ti Guy JDBA Official Member

Just keep your eyes peeled for the cam latch parts, and avoid working around carpet. Latch actually has a bushing unlike the blade for whatever reason, and it has a tiny little pin that rides on the latch to provide tension.

Only other thing really is just being careful not to strip any screws. Hopefully you have some quality torx bits, and not just some random hex bits or somthing. If you feel like you're forcing it, try giving it a little heat (dip in boiling water, use a lighter, hair dryer, etc..)