1. **ATTENTION ALL DEVILS** If you are still having trouble logging in, (Resetting your password should do "the trick") Optimum Online is blocking JD emails for some reason*, OR if you are not technically capable of doing this; use the "Contact Us" form utilizing your current, valid email address. If your email address is 'lost' to you, simply providing some account details will get us on the correct path together. THERE IS NO NEED TO CREATE SECONDARY ACCOUNTS, STOP BEING SO LAZY! YOU WILL BE BANNED! (Yelling/impolite voice implied there for *maximum effect*)
    Dismiss Notice

How do you pick a Custom Maker?

Jax718 Dec 7, 2010

1. Jax718

Jax718 Little member

I have been looking at alot of customs lately and have saw a bunch I like and some not so much. I have limited experience with customs due to the fact none of the shops close to me carry any. I have owned a RJ Martin and a Kirby Lambert before but that's the only customs I have experience with. I would like to get into customs a little more and start purchasing a few, but how do you know what kind of quality you are getting if there isn't a way to see the knife before you buy it. With that said I am asking for some recommendations from you guys of some quality makers. Makers you have experience with and wouldn't hesitate to buy without having to see it in person first. Feel free to send me a PM if you would rather discuss in private also. Thanks Guys

2. Les Robertson

Les Robertson Guru of Steel Knife Maker or Craftsman

Hi Jax,

First, I would suggest you list your parameters of what you are looking for in a custom knife. To include price range.

Second, understand that most of what you will get here will be a member's favorite maker. So be sure to ask them what their background is with regards to custom knives.

Third, there are lots of advanced collectors here so you should be able to get a lot of answers to your questions.

The more questions you ask...the more money you will save.

3. Pmlknives