1. **ATTENTION ALL DEVILS** If you are still having trouble logging in, (Resetting your password should do "the trick") Optimum Online is blocking JD emails for some reason*, OR if you are not technically capable of doing this; use the "Contact Us" form utilizing your current, valid email address. If your email address is 'lost' to you, simply providing some account details will get us on the correct path together. THERE IS NO NEED TO CREATE SECONDARY ACCOUNTS, STOP BEING SO LAZY! YOU WILL BE BANNED! (Yelling/impolite voice implied there for *maximum effect*)
    Dismiss Notice

Grinding without a belt grinder

Terrapin83 Mar 26, 2019

1. Terrapin83

Terrapin83 Little Member

Okay... before I get too much further into this project, I need a little advice. This is my first attempt at a hand forged blade. I still need to do a bit more cleanup on the tang and smooth out the spine and cutting edge, but after that it's on to the grind. The problem is I don't have a belt grinder atm, and would still like to have as smooth of a grind as I can on this. Tools at my disposal include: angle grinders, bench grinder, cutoff tools (with grinding wheel attachments), files, various sandpapers, bench vise, among other various mechanic's tools. So my question I guess is this... What would be the best way (with the tools mentioned above) to go about trying to get a smooth flat grind (full flat grind from edge to spine) on this knife? TIA DSCN4239lq.jpg

Rio and Jim L. like this.
  2. Sparks

Sparks Tiny Member

I'd clamp in the vise, start with the files to establish the full bevels then finish with sandpaper. Sandpaper needs to be mounted to a hard backer that is preferably as flat as possible. Nice even pressure pull strokes with the hard backer will give you a full flat with a straight grained satin finish.

Jim L. likes this.
  3. Terrapin83

Terrapin83 Little Member