1. **ATTENTION ALL DEVILS** If you are still having trouble logging in, (Resetting your password should do "the trick") Optimum Online is blocking JD emails for some reason*, OR if you are not technically capable of doing this; use the "Contact Us" form utilizing your current, valid email address. If your email address is 'lost' to you, simply providing some account details will get us on the correct path together. THERE IS NO NEED TO CREATE SECONDARY ACCOUNTS, STOP BEING SO LAZY! YOU WILL BE BANNED! (Yelling/impolite voice implied there for *maximum effect*)
    Dismiss Notice

Glock 30 vs. 30s - your thoughts?

Sheldon_Wickersham May 27, 2015

1. Sheldon_Wickersham

Sheldon_Wickersham Blue Star Knives Knife Maker or Craftsman

I've been shooting a Glock 19 9mm since 1988 and am onto my second now, an RTF2, mostly used for matches now that I have a G26 9mm. I also have a stock G30 .45acp that I traded into for only a few hunnerd bucks. This weekend I had a chance to shoot the much lighter G30s, also in .45, and I liked it; it was, however, a bit stiff, recoil wise.

The difference between the 30 and 30s being a SF frame (I have small hands, so the 30SF frame fits well), and a thinner/lighter slide that weighs ~4oz less than the thicker G30. A stocking Glock dealer friend can get me into a new Gen 3 Glock 30s for ~$490.

I can use my G19 holsters, keep the extra G30 mags and mag holders, and sell the nearly new G30 with Raven Concealment holster for close to the buy-in cost of the G30s - could be a win.

Your thoughts before I jump? Specifically, IYO, should I keep the G30 too? I don't see myself carrying it, or shooting it much - but gawd, it's a sweet little shooter with just about zero felt recoil...

View attachment 128870

Last edited by a moderator: May 27, 2015
  2. IWantThatKnife

IWantThatKnife I want that knife Knife Maker or Craftsman

Grock...