1. **ATTENTION ALL DEVILS** If you are still having trouble logging in (Resetting your password should do "the trick") OR if you are not technically capable of doing this; use the "Contact Us" form utilizing your current, valid email address. If your email address is 'lost' to you, simply providing some account details will get us on the correct path together. THERE IS NO NEED TO CREATE SECONDARY ACCOUNTS, STOP BEING SO LAZY! YOU WILL BE BANNED! (Yelling/impolite voice implied there for *maximum effect*)
    Dismiss Notice

Carpenter CTS XHP Steel vs S110V

mag1 Nov 3, 2011

1. mag1

mag1 No More Mr. Nice Guy Brigade Member

To be truthful, I am no expert on blade steel. I read a lot of reviews, try to sum them up, then I get slightly overwhelmed..
    So after seeing Mr. LaBellas's new RJ with carpenter steel:devilzeek..I was wondering how it compared to S110V steel..What would be the similarities, differences, pros, and cons..Of course if there are any:devilroll:.
    Thanks for your input:thumbsup:

Last edited by a moderator: Nov 3, 2011
  2. Mike Stewart

Mike Stewart Knife Moderator/Bark River Knife & Tool

Has anyone here actually used CPMS110V for anything except Collecting ?

I also would be very interested in hearing about it.

I found the XHP to be very good.

I used it with a heavy edge spine and it worked well.

Mike

mag1 likes this.
  3. mag1

Thanks for trying to help Mike:thumbsup:

4. RJ Martin

RJ Martin Tactical Knife Maker Knife Maker or Craftsman

My Experience

There isn't really a valid comparison between XHP and S110V. Overall,
    S110V is the king. Best American made knife steel on the planet, IMO.