PDA

View Full Version : need help. is this real or fake? extreme ratio fans



spartan45
01-08-2010, 04:45 PM
was looking at this website. i believe canadian and couldn't believe the price on a extreme ratio nemesis. if you notice they block out the trademarkings/brand name. doing so because not an authorised dealer or is this a fake? i've been comparing other pics of the real deal with this one and if it is a fake i'm stumped.

http://www.canadaknives.com/product_info.php?cPath=1_8&products_id=141


hopefully someone will clear this up for me.

thanks all

Tom v S
01-08-2010, 04:56 PM
The pictures look like the real deal to me. Everything is corresponding with the real one, the letters, the screws, the grinds, the backspacer.

But the description is weird, it isn't a 440C blade, the real is made of N690.

rudechuck
01-08-2010, 04:59 PM
I agree the picture is real, but I doubt you will get what's in the picture. More likely, you'll get something like this (http://cgi.ebay.ca/Nemes-midium-folding-knife-backlock-1pc_W0QQitemZ170392006717QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_Def aultDomain_0?hash=item27ac27b03d). Probably not even 440C, they just pulled that out of their asses just like the picture.

SERE
01-08-2010, 06:49 PM
It doesnt looks real to me, comparing to my MPC and RAO by ER details.
There is a fuck-up in the specs though. 440c in the specs and on the blade N690 wich is correct. Also the upper blade side should be EXTREMA RATIO and not EXTREM, its a bad photoshop job. They make me doubt wether the seller is to be trusted.:madfacedevil:

One more important detail is the nummer laser printed on the end of the back near the lock-up. It is 0766 wich means that this one comes from a series made before 2005. ER pulled them back from production cause they gave to many problems with the lock-up, it simply was not relieable.

Series after that time are marked with a "C" after the numbers.
So beware of them is my advice!

SugarSkull
01-08-2010, 07:57 PM
Consider the unmarked box also.

Mr. Andersson
01-08-2010, 08:17 PM
It doesnt looks real to me, comparing to my MPC and RAO by ER details.
There is a fuck-up in the specs though. 440c in the specs and on the blade N690 wich is correct. Also the upper blade side should be EXTREMA RATIO and not EXTREM, its a bad photoshop job. They make me doubt wether the seller is to be trusted.:madfacedevil:

One more important detail is the nummer laser printed on the end of the back near the lock-up. It is 0766 wich means that this one comes from a series made before 2005. ER pulled them back from production cause they gave to many problems with the lock-up, it simply was not relieable.

Series after that time are marked with a "C" after the numbers.
So beware of them is my advice!



This!

bang on target..!

*THE PUNISHER*
01-08-2010, 09:38 PM
they got fakes for anyone that is logged into blue ridge there are 2 lists of e r knives some cheap they are fake and the real deal,cept in the catalog they don't tell you,buyer beware..........

*THE PUNISHER*
01-08-2010, 09:39 PM
It doesnt looks real to me, comparing to my MPC and RAO by ER details.
There is a fuck-up in the specs though. 440c in the specs and on the blade N690 wich is correct. Also the upper blade side should be EXTREMA RATIO and not EXTREM, its a bad photoshop job. They make me doubt wether the seller is to be trusted.:madfacedevil:

One more important detail is the nummer laser printed on the end of the back near the lock-up. It is 0766 wich means that this one comes from a series made before 2005. ER pulled them back from production cause they gave to many problems with the lock-up, it simply was not relieable.

Series after that time are marked with a "C" after the numbers.
So beware of them is my advice!
thatz it the c,thanx itz after the #'s in the book or web........

Oliver Mendl
01-08-2010, 10:37 PM
beware of that shop! counterfeits, counterfeits and more counterfeits. that guy got an major ass-whooping not so long ago when he put up strider-fakes.........

greetings,
olli

lachrymalex
01-08-2010, 10:53 PM
i would forward the website to Extrema, and have them take a look. if it's a fake, they might be able to take legal action.

counterfeiting sucks, but especially counterfeit knives. when i sees em, i reports em.

droid
01-08-2010, 11:30 PM
they got fakes for anyone that is logged into blue ridge there are 2 lists of e r knives some cheap they are fake and the real deal,cept in the catalog they don't tell you,buyer beware..........

I don't understand what you're saying here.

I logged into Blue Ridge Knives and there are not two lists for Extrema Ratio. They have two PAGES of Extrema Ratio knives and they are all supposed to be actual Extrema Ratio knives. Blue Ridge lists the country of origin as Italy on all of them

The ones that are cheaper are the BF1, BF2 and Dark Talon. If you can call a list price of $195-$245 "cheap"!

Nowhere on the Blue Ridge site do they mention fakes. In fact, in the 19 years I've been dealing with Blue Ridge they have never sold me a counterfeit.

Kinnear Knife
01-08-2010, 11:36 PM
in Toronto, and I'm sure that somebody on here is in Toronto or area, ask a favour, and get them checked out... if they don't have a retail location where the item can be seen... don't buy.

Just my two cent's worth.

Have a good one!

Rat Finkenstein
01-09-2010, 12:44 AM
fake as plastic dog shit.

Rat Finkenstein
01-09-2010, 12:49 AM
Everything they have is probably fakes.

Sleazy Chinese knockoff outlet.

sentinel
01-09-2010, 10:01 AM
I would say if you buy that knife from there, there is a very good chance that you will be 'extreme'(ly) disappointed. :ssad:

spartan45
01-11-2010, 09:19 AM
i would forward the website to Extrema, and have them take a look. if it's a fake, they might be able to take legal action.

counterfeiting sucks, but especially counterfeit knives. when i sees em, i reports em.

i forwarded the site to er this morning.

spartan45
01-12-2010, 08:40 AM
i forwarded the site to er this morning.

i just got an email from er confirming that they are indeed fakes and that they have contacted the owner of the website. :devil1:

sentinel
01-12-2010, 02:54 PM
Bet the owner will be a happy man....:devil1:. I bought a Benchmade Stryker a few years ago from a seller on Ebay to replace a lost one, my first thought on opening the box was, 'quality control has gone downhill since i bought my last Benchmade.' Further inspection & a quick stripdown soon told me it was a fake & i got my money back, but that knife would have fooled someone who had never owned a knife from Benchmade before. Lesson is as always, if it seems too good to be true, it usually is.:ssmile: Let's hope E.R. tear him a new one.

cilipepa
01-15-2010, 12:42 AM
nemesis is a flat grind
http://www.teraasekeskus.com/images/extra/ExtremaNemesis2.jpg

CanadaKnives is a hollow grind
http://canadaknives.com/images/nemesis.jpg

-- Esav Benyamin :bluedevil:

gte217e
01-18-2010, 03:50 AM
I found the knife they are trying to sell but I don't want to post a link to a chinese website that sells counterfeit knives. Anyways, the knife cost is $20.

Marvin8
05-02-2010, 01:06 AM
I just bought a "used" Extrema Ratio Fulcrum II folder from a guy on Ebay, but the safety pin lock at the back doesn't push in or pull out. I played with it a bit, but I'm now wondering if I may have bought a fake. That would totally suck, because it cost me $150.