View Full Version : WTF eBay!
SpydercoLover
03-29-2012, 03:15 PM
They are selling FAKE benchmade 40tr's on ebay..........this needs reporting. I know on those cheap wholesale sites nothing can be done about those but since its ebay and they have more rules im going to look into getting them taken off.
What a scam. They are actually trying to pass them off as real 40tr's and 40t's
Mpsecare
03-29-2012, 03:38 PM
They are selling FAKE benchmade 40tr's on ebay..........this needs reporting. I know on those cheap wholesale sites nothing can be done about those but since its ebay and they have more rules im going to look into getting them taken off.
What a scam. They are actually trying to pass them off as real 40tr's and 40t's
I saw a "51 morpho" on ebay once that boasted a 3.25 inch blade :ropeman:
SpydercoLover
03-29-2012, 03:49 PM
I found another one that is claiming to be actual "benchmade trainers, combs, and sharp"..............that is not a typing mistake, it actually says sharp in the description.
this guy has a bunch of them for 162$
Benchmade Model 42 Bali-Song
Benchmade Model 42 Bali-Song
Practical Weehawk Blade Shape. Skeletonized Titanium Handles. Spring Latch for Easy Open. Unparalleled Benchmade Fit and Finish
Features:
Category End Use: EDC/Tactical/Military/Law Enforcement
Blade Steel: 154CM
Rc Hardness: 58-60
Blade Style: Single Edge WeeHawk
Handle Material: Skeletonized Titanium
Lock Type: Bali-Song
Carry Method: Black Nylon Sheath
Length Open: 9.40"
Blade Length: 4.20"
Blade Thickness: 0.125"
Length Closed: 5.20"
Weight: 4.10 oz.
Made in: U.S.A.
Price: $169.99
Buy Product Online | Visit Store Home
Manufactured by Benchmade
EOD13
03-29-2012, 03:57 PM
Is it this one?
I'm really no expert on trainers... but I've never seen a fake 40TR.
SpydercoLover
03-29-2012, 04:04 PM
fakes or real?
SpydercoLover
03-29-2012, 04:06 PM
Is it this one?
I'm really no expert on trainers... but I've never seen a fake 40TR.
No, st least i dont think that one is.
Heres a fake
EOD13
03-29-2012, 04:10 PM
No, st least i dont think that one is.
Heres a fake
You know... I've NEVER seen a fake 40TR out there. The 40T is commonly made as a fake. BUT the red one doesnt even have the butterfly from the pictures...
pyrotech25
03-29-2012, 04:15 PM
No, st least i dont think that one is.
Heres a fake
They sure do have a pretty blue box though.:bwah:
TPetsch
03-29-2012, 04:45 PM
Ebay is actually pretty good at removing shit like that from their site. BUT you have to make them aware of it.. ...In Ebays defense, can't expect them to check the validity of 'every' listing.
http://pages.ebay.com/help/policies/replica-counterfeit.html
Glenn
03-29-2012, 04:50 PM
The ones that are NOT branded with the butterfly one could argue that they are not Benchmade copies, even though they look identical.
"WE" Know they are.
Furthermore they are not being represented as a Benchmade product.
The same discussion revolved around the Microtech copy of the new Zero Tolerance 777 .
sheneniganer
03-29-2012, 04:53 PM
JD does not endorse fake, knock-off or clone type knives. The links to those have been removed. Linking people to those knives, while it is negative advertisement, is still advertisement.
I am not scolding anyone for posting this topic, just reminding not to post links or images to copied or stolen goods.
calvinnation
03-29-2012, 04:54 PM
this is the wierdest thread. every post is edited, there are no links? Whats going on here. Cutleryshoppe never sold fake 42s did they!? They are a great company to deal with.
SpydercoLover
03-29-2012, 04:55 PM
okay, sorry about that. and ya Glenn.
Glenn
03-29-2012, 05:01 PM
Also there is something that never gets expressed. Benchmade does not exactly have clean hands. :ropeman:
They blatantly copied the Spartan CQB tool.
First to make it.
http://www.spartanbladesusa.com/cqb-tool-p-98.html
And Benchmades release
http://www.benchmade.com/products/176
There is little to no difference other then branding.
@ Shen, these links I posted are of valid products available , not to a clone, perhaps more of copy write infringement.
Mystik
03-29-2012, 05:12 PM
Also there is something that never gets expressed. Benchmade does not exactly have clean hands. :ropeman:
They blatantly copied the Spartan CQB tool.
First to make it.
http://www.spartanbladesusa.com/cqb-tool-p-98.html
And Benchmades release
http://www.benchmade.com/products/176
There is little to no difference other then branding.
@ Shen, these links I posted are of valid products available , not to a clone, perhaps more of copy write infringement.
And if you do your research, Benchmade did actually give credit to Greg Thompson for the design. If you read the product link page that you linked, it says "Thompson Design". If you watched some of the SHOT Show 2012 videos, a Benchmade rep will say it is Thompson's Design.
Youtube reference for educational purpose:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JkvEczYuDu0&t=9m45s
Though I am not saying Benchmade doesn't plagiarize or copy other people's designs. I'm just pointing out that they did give credit for that particular product.
Glenn
03-29-2012, 05:24 PM
And if you do your research, Benchmade did actually give credit to Greg Thompson for the design. If you read the product link page that you linked, it says "Thompson Design". If you watched some of the SHOT Show 2012 videos, a Benchmade rep will say it is Thompson's Design.
Youtube reference for educational purpose:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JkvEczYuDu0&t=9m45s
Though I am not saying Benchmade doesn't plagiarize or copy other people's designs. I'm just pointing out that they did give credit for that particular product.
And that is good to know, thanks !
I would hope there was also profit share. :yuna:
knifezoid
03-29-2012, 05:48 PM
Most big companies like Benchmade know better than to outright
steal another makers design. Look at the slack SOG took when
it copied almost exactly the Spyderco Endura with their Sogzilla
http://lh3.googleusercontent.com/public/n2lXa9Jt7JLKn1MN3VeSfY1ed_EkdqSQp_RyKBHytS5yiJg9U4 RTwKt8KvVa1SDnL7ZZzw0blDRFhfodxH3e3LK13rtvFCypvdOe qJjUBJmmDm8Kx2uMGMc1kEYIZ3aS0HRQalymr_KkiYKNr_YTlj N6qARZ-TAXaidHiQ
It just doesn't reflect positively on a company at all. Hence why
most of the guys doing it are fly by night companies just looking
to make a quick buck.
sheneniganer
03-29-2012, 06:08 PM
No worries Glenn, I wasn't going to question those links.
NuknfutzRN
03-30-2012, 03:58 AM
JD member Jasond is an official Benchmade representative. Items such as these, the fakes on EBay, should be forwarded to him. If not here then over on the Benchmade Forum. (But there are no other Forums...repeat after me, "there are no other forums") They appreciate it and do take action.
Mpsecare
03-30-2012, 07:34 AM
JD member Jasond is an official Benchmade representative. Items such as these, the fakes on EBay, should be forwarded to him. If not here then over on the Benchmade Forum. (But there are no other Forums...repeat after me, "there are no other forums") They appreciate it and do take action.
ha poor guy is going to get flooded with 62 info requests :bwah:
SpydercoLover
03-30-2012, 07:40 AM
JD member Jasond is an official Benchmade representative. Items such as these, the fakes on EBay, should be forwarded to him. If not here then over on the Benchmade Forum. (But there are no other Forums...repeat after me, "there are no other forums") They appreciate it and do take action.
Didn't know that. Thanks for letting me know.
P.s. mpsecare, that 51 with the white G10 looks sweet
Powered by vBulletin® Version 4.2.1 Copyright © 2013 vBulletin Solutions, Inc. All rights reserved.